Smart Step Funding vs Alternative Funding Group
Built live from what each lender publishes. Nothing here is estimated — where a lender publishes nothing, the cell says so.
| Attribute | Smart Step Funding | Alternative Funding Group |
|---|---|---|
| On the record |
|
|
| Lender type | Direct funder | Direct funder |
| Products offered | MCA, Revenue-based | MCA, Working capital, SBA, Equipment, Invoice financing, Asset-based, Reverse consolidation |
| Published amounts | $5K – $300K | $5K – $500K |
| Pricing basis | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Published rate | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Disclosed fees | "No, the application is free. Smart Step Funding (SSF) does not impose any up-front charges whatsoever." Homepage: "We do not charge any hidden fees; once we receive your complete application we will send you a proposal within hours, and what you see is what you get." A non-sufficient funds (NSF) fee may be charged to cover the bank's NSF fee. | No factor rate or fee schedule published. The MCA page lists "No Interest Rate" as a benefit but discloses no factor rate, so the cost of capital is not published in any form. |
| Repayment frequency | Variable with revenue | Variable with revenue |
| Term length | 6–18 months | Not disclosed |
| Minimum credit score | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Minimum time in business | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Minimum monthly revenue | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Collateral required | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Personal guarantee | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| States excluded | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Industries excluded | Not disclosed | gambling, substance abuse, firearms, adult entertainment |
| Speed to fund | Pre-qualified within hours; most businesses receive their money within days | 24–48 hours |
| Speed conditions | The /about-us page instead says 'Get pre-qualified within 24 hours' with 'funds for your business within a week' - see notes | "within 24 hours after approval"; requires a completed application plus the last three months of bank statements |
| Headquarters | Boca Raton, FL | Fort Lauderdale, FL |
| Established | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Next step | Enquire Review | Enquire Review |
Rates on this page are not directly comparable unless the pricing basis matches. A factor rate of 1.30 and an APR of 30% are different measures of different things — a factor rate is a multiple of the amount advanced with no time dimension, an APR is annualised. Read the pricing basis row before comparing the rate row.